Which countries have DSTV mobile coverage?

Posted on March 3, 2011

There seems to be 3 services, each with it’s own coverage (thanks to Maiyo Simapungula, Public Relations and Communications Manager at DStv Mobile for clearing some of this up). These are the DVB-H broadcast coverage, the general streaming service and the N8 specific service.

The DVB-H broadcast coverage includes:

  • Ghana
  • Kenya
  • Namibia
  • Nigeria
  • South Africa

DSTV mobile has a streaming service available via Vodacom Live!. This service is currently available only in South Africa with more countries expected to follow. It has 11 channels, and for R59/month (or R19/week) you get to watch up to 3 hours (45m weekly). For more information check the “Streaming  Tab” from the DSTV mobile website or click here.

A second streaming service is available exclusively for the Nokia N8. The website  lists +- 50 countries where this service works (full list here). This is however a streaming service and not a broadcast service so you PAY FOR THE DATA, which makes it very expensive. It also only has 3 channels, SuperSport Blitz, Euronew and SawSee.

Posted in: Broadcast Service (DVB-H), Intro, Nokia N8 Streaming, Streaming Service

Comments are closed

%d bloggers like this: